Scott Livingston

man in suit holding a shovel

Before becoming the Economic Development Director for League City,  Scott Livingston lived and traveled across Asia for five years, helped manage a disaster relief project and even worked as a Park Ranger. Learn more about Scott’s love for the outdoors and his adventures overseas.

As Director of Economic Development, what do you do?

I seek to improve the quality of life in League City by providing places to live, work, and play. Much of this is accomplished by attracting quality businesses and increasing commercial tax revenue.

What’s your favorite part about your job?

I enjoy meeting and working with so many different types of people. For example, residents, investors, business owners, City staff, and elected officials. No two days are ever the same.

What project are you mostly excited about?

The EpiCenter League City project, because it is likely to have a transformative impact on the City and the capital investment is largely coming from private investors and the state.

Before you moved to League City, you lived overseas?

I’m from southwest Houston, but I went around the world twice before I got here. I lived in India and traveled in parts of Asia for five years with my wife and three kids. I did community development, business development, and leadership development while I was there.

What did you do in India?

During our first trip to India from 1999 to late 2001, I bi-lingually and cross-culturally organized corporate social responsibility projects to develop sustainable small business models to economically empower a nomadic tribe in India. During our second trip to India from 2009 to late 2012, I conducted business development activities for American companies seeking new business opportunities in India, managed nine types of community development projects, and provided leadership training to more than three hundred community leaders.

What kind of community development did you do?

My wife and I worked with our national partners to manage one community disaster relief project, partially support one orphanage, fund the construction of two small village schools, started three self-help groups, conducted three breast cancer awareness programs, funded seven cottage-based, vocational stitching training centers, started twenty small animal husbandry projects, drilled twenty-five clean water tube wells, and implemented organic farming in over four hundred rural villages.

What was your experience like?

Living and working in India, plus traveling to visit other countries in Asia such as Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Thailand, gave me an opportunity to experience other cultures and create some of my most cherished life memories. My wife and I were stunned by India’s gracious and generous hospitality. Although we enjoyed the culture and fast-paced life in big cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Haridwar, Dehra Dun, Ranchi, and Calcutta, most of our favorite experiences were in the remote rural villages that lack basic infrastructure, education, and medical care. Living and traveling in India was always an adventure filled with unexpected events, friendly people, lively conversations, an array of colorful cultures, new foods, moving music, energizing movies, and lots of chai! We enjoyed being included in family and/or community celebrations such as weddings, birthday parties, and religious holidays, and we treasure the time that we had to invest and share in the lives of other people.

Did you learn different languages while living in India?

Yes, I learned to read and write both Hindi and Urdu.

What are your hobbies outside work?

I enjoy backpacking, camping, and exploring.

Where do you go to camp out?

I like to go to the Sam Houston National Forest, Davey Crocket National Forest, and different state parks across Texas. I’ve been to Guadalupe National Park, Big Bend National Park, Yosemite, the Rocky Mountains, and dozens of parks more all over east and west Texas.

Did you ever have a job that dealt with the outdoors?

I lived and worked in Yellowstone National Park for two summers during college.

I also used to be a federal park ranger at Cooper Lake in Northeast Texas with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. During that time, I patrolled and assisted in the management of 80,000 acres of land and water. I was outside all the time in the woods and forests. I worked very independently, and also got to work with wildlife management and dozens of communities throughout southeast Texas. I also presented water safety programs for schools.

What do you love about the outdoors?

I enjoy the solitude and being close to nature, having a campfire, and just being around natural beauty. It gives me time to reflect, think about life, and resetting priorities.

Three words to describe yourself?

Tenacious, problem-solver, and creative.