League City’s Italian Heritage Museum has officially opened its doors to the public. The museum, also known as the Ghirardi House, has a long and rich history, deeply embedded in the heritage of League City. Originally built in the 1900's, it was owned by J.C. League, the founder of League City, and eventually sold to Sebastian Ghirardi, the son of the first Italians to immigrate to League City. In 2002, it was donated to the City of League City by Rita Ghirardi for the purpose of making it a museum.
In 2019, the City of League City started renovating the historic home and transforming it into the Italian Heritage museum. The facility, which is located next to the Butler Longhorn Museum at 1220 Coryell, now features exhibits, and interactive displays that tell the stories of the twelve Italian families who migrated to League City.
It will be open Tuesdays through Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. for tours.
Seniors (60+), Military, Students, Children (8-16) $9.00
Children 7 & under/ Active Military: Free